Porsche Macan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
In discussions with a seller to potentially buy his used 2015 macan turbo. I had the maintenance records pulled and the most recent entry indicated shows 15 days of warranty work for "37340 double clutch transmission/1812 worn out, too much play".

I can't see the details of what repair was done, etc., but I'd like to be informed before I speak to the seller about it. Does this look like a potential PDK rebuild/replace to you guys?

·
Registered
24 Posts
Well.. I am not an expert, but "too much play" does not sound good...
Maybe previous owner took it to racing track too much? too many hard acceleration?
I would say too much play equals too much stress on transmission. I would not buy that car if I were you. I wouldn't want to risk buying a used car that could potentially cost you thousands of dollars in future.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Did as much research on the boards as I could before speaking to the seller. Apparently the car was making an odd "hiss" noise when going in/out of sports+. When the dealer diagnosed it they determined an entire new transmission was required to remedy. It was replaced under warranty about 3k miles ago.

Couldn't find any evidence of anyone else experiencing these symptoms. That being said I'm not positive the majority of porsche owners are active forum members.

·
Registered
292 Posts
Sounds like there must be more to the story. An MY15 is still under warranty?

How many miles does the car have on it now? PDK replacements on the Macan are relatively rare, although not completely unheard of. Wonder if it was merely the Megatronic unit that was replaced rather than a complete transmission.

Is there a warranty on the new PDK?