Porsche Macan Forum banner

New Turbo for the "Wife"

5K views 26 replies 11 participants last post by  Patch 
#1 ·
I've been browsing the forum the past few weeks and found it extremely helpful in figuring out what I want for a Macan. I am new to Porsche as of last year when I picked up a 991.1 TT. I subsequently traded that car for an ordered Boxster GTS 4.0 in December. My wife tagged along and really liked the Taycan. I took one home for her to try and while it was great, it was a little to sporty for her taste. When returning the Taycan I thought that perhaps I should have her try a Macan. She drove a Macan last year and didn't like it, which surprised me. Well, I brought home a Turbo with the agate/pebble interior and she absolutely loved it. After a few weeks of discussion on whether to pull the trigger on the inventory Macan, order one, or do nothing, she is leaning towards taking the inventory Macan. I figure with Valentine's day coming up I'd pull the trigger and not tell her. My plan is to see if she can go look at an S to see if she likes something cheaper, then have the Turbo sitting in the delivery bay when we get there, have my sales advisor tell her it is sold. I can then tell her I bought it, she won't believe me, but then we hand her the keys. I'm more excited about this than when I picked up my Boxster!

My wife is coming from a Maserati Ghibli I bought her last year. It was a service loaner and priced as used so I didn't feel terrible buying it (I would not pay new prices for those). My wife felt like Maserati was the pinnacle of the automotive world and it was always her dream to drive one. After driving the Taycan and Macan she started to figure out that perhaps Chryslers built in Italy are not actually all that fantastic. She's also noticed interior and exterior parts falling off the car periodically, which seems to also be a bit of a head scratcher for her.