Porsche Macan Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
522 Posts
Sorry to see this, hope everyone is okay - I'm no mechanic but I would say no. You never know how badly things are impacted beneath the surface. When I was rear-ended they had to replace my entire exhaust system due to damage beyond just the cosmetic hit on my rear bumper

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks. We are ok. We were hit in Pennsylvania and we live in Florida. Here on a little vacation visiting relatives because we didn’t want to fly with Covid around. It will be another stresser to get it repaired here (months) and then have to fly back and drive it back.

·
Registered
64 Posts
I am glad everyone is OK.
There is no way that I would repair it if it was my Macan, would want it totaled.
I am no expert, but when I had a simple repair done in California years ago that involved small dent on a wheel-well crease: over $3k and the damage was the size of a golfball.
I have to imagine (or should I say a wild guess) that damage to the front drivetrain alone could be $10-$20k (unless the way the wheel looks in the photo, is not indicative to further damage), not to mention 5 body panels that need repair along with a new wheel/tire and possible full re-paint.
Good luck, and sorry to hear that this has happened to you.
Remember to take my comments with a grain of salt, since repair prices are probably higher in California, and I am really just guessing....My concern is internal damage to the front drivetrain, suspension, engine???

·
Registered
555 Posts
i would say possbile frame damage and total due to this but if they can get it aligned ok after broken parts are done. if repaired i would have the alignment checked by another company to see if it is right.

·
Registered
335 Posts