Porsche Macan Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
286 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
This would be to replace my 2015 Macan Turbo. I've read and understand the basic differences between the 997.1 (Mezger engine) and 997.2 (PDK, 9A1 motor and many other updates).
Since it would be my daily driver, and I live in DC area, I would need AWD.
If I decide on an 'automatic' I would go 997.2 for sure with the PDK.
If I go manual I that opens up the full 997 line for me.
I'd definitely like to go with a coupe (no targa, no cab).
As a daily driver I'm expecting I'll put up to 10k miles on it annually. Not looking to pay a premium for the low mileage car that I'll just lose value on as I add miles. Prefer a higher mileage lower cost up front.
I really like the idea of reducing depreciation (better if it appreciates based on price bought) as it sounds like 997 could hold it's value.
I'm willing to travel for a car (picked up my Macan Turbo in Chicago).
I'd say my budget is $60k
Exterior, I'd go with black, white, silver but could be swayed away from these.
I also love the idea of getting a turbo.

Here are a few options:
$55k 2008 Porsche 911 Turbo Manual https://www.cars.com/vehicledetail/detail/802945006/overview/
$61k 2007 Porsche 911 Turbo Manual https://www.cars.com/vehicledetail/detail/794307487/overview/
$55k 2012 Porsche 911 Carrera 4S PDK https://www.cars.com/vehicledetail/detail/795057853/overview/

Blow my budget:
$78k 2012 Porsche 911 Carrera 4 GTS 6-speed https://www.cars.com/vehicledetail/detail/797020806/overview/
$86k 2012 Porsche 911 Turbo PDK https://www.cars.com/vehicledetail/detail/787643270/overview/

While very very very few cars are an investment, what would be the best financial buy (least amount of depreciation while using it as a daily driver)?

I see that a 997.2 turbo is going to cost $80k and up - not sure I want to spend that BUT if it's the better buy than I might. Thanks for any input.

Richard

·
Super Moderator
8,947 Posts