Porsche Macan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 166 Posts

·
Registered
781 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Not a biggie but when I'm sitting in gear at idle I can hear a faint chirping like noise, kind of like exhaust maybe but not rattling, more humming. Disappears when moving. Likely something loose in the undercarriage Cant seem to spot where its coming from. Anyone have anything like that?

·
Registered
37 Posts
At about 300 miles on my Macan I starting noticing a noise at idle, and low RPM's, that is almost like a higher pitch hum/moan that comes and goes. It sounds almost like a belt rubbing, or maybe turbo whine. It does not really change tone when reving the engine. I do not think the sound existed for the first week of driving the car either. The fact it does it at idle makes me doubt it is a turbo-cause whine but I have little experience/knowledge to make this conclusion. The noise is not excessive so I am not sure if I am just being picky.

I read posts of a similar noise on other new 991 Porsches and even one Macan that was caused by a oil separator vent that was defective - all new cars. The Macan post I read on this forum is from 11-13-14 : Search on "Direct Injection = Gunk on Intake Valves?"

I plan to ask at the dealer after the holidays to check it. Please post if you find out more too!

·
Registered
781 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
At about 300 miles on my Macan I starting noticing a noise at idle, and low RPM's, that is almost like a higher pitch hum/moan that comes and goes. It sounds almost like a belt rubbing, or maybe turbo whine. It does not really change tone when reving the engine. I do not think the sound existed for the first week of driving the car either. The fact it does it at idle makes me doubt it is a turbo-cause whine but I have little experience/knowledge to make this conclusion. The noise is not excessive so I am not sure if I am just being picky.